Legal Notices

General Terms and Conditions for Use of the Garden Mobile Application and Website

Version: August 2019

1. General Provisions

  • Any and all use of the Garden Mobile Application ("Mobile App") and Garden Website ( https://getgarden.de , "Website) offered by Munich Re PCC Ltd., a cell company formed in accordance with the provisions of the Companies Act (Cell Companies Carrying on Business of Insurance) Regulations (Subsidiary Legislation 386.10 of the Laws of Malta), appearing hereon on our own behalf and in respect of the Savings & Investments Cell (the "Company" or "we") is permitted to our customers (each a "Customer") exclusively in accordance with the present terms and conditions (the "T&C").
  • The following Company is responsible for the content and services rendered through the Mobile App or Website and is Customer's contractual partner:

    Munich Re PCC Ltd., in respect of the Savings & Investments Cell

    Address: Level 4, Whitehall Mansions, Ta’ Xbiex Seafront, Ta’ Xbiex, XBX 1026,

    Tel: +356 21344066

    E-Mail: savingsandinvestments@munichre.com

    VAT-ID: MT 2439-5005

  • The services offered in the Mobile App and on the Website are directed exclusively to consumers. For the purpose of these T&C, "Consumer" is any natural person entering into the contract for purposes that are predominantly outside his trade, business, craft or profession (Art. 2(1) Directive 2011/83/EU, Sec. 13 BGB).
  • We reserve the right to unilaterally change these T&C, provided they have become part of the contractual relationship with the Customer, to the extent such changes are necessary, or to bring the T&C in line with new legal or technical requirements. We will inform the Customer about the amended provisions. The changes will become effective and will be part of the contractual relationship with the Customer, unless the Customer has objected to this by giving notice in written or text form within a period of four weeks following the notification about the changes.
  • Company is entitled to discontinue operation of the Mobile App and/or the Website, in full or in part, at any time without justification. If so, Customers will be granted an alternative for accessing their accounts, financial status, and insurance contracts

2. Registration, User Account

  • A Customer can register and create a personal user account ("User Account"). Each Customer shall keep only one User Account at the same time. Registration, activation and use of the User Account are free of charge.Upon registration, the User Account may be used for the Mobile App and the Website.
  • We are not obligated to accept a registration by a Customer.
  • The Customer may review and change his entry during the registration process by using the keyboard of his device. The Customer may at any time access and view these T&C within the Mobile App and on the Website, where they may also be downloaded and printed.
  • The User Account will be activated without undue delay after registration. A Customer shall be notified of the activation of his User Account by e-mail. Hereafter, the Customer can log in with his credentials (user name and password). The contractual relationship between the Company and the Customer regarding the use of the Mobile App and the Website is concluded at the time the Customer receives the notification of the activation of its User Account. The languages available for concluding the agreement are: German and English.
  • All information and details provided by the Customer must be true, and any future changes must be communicated without undue delay, in particular if the Customer should cease to be a Consumer (as defined in Sec. 1 (3) above). The Customer is entitled to view, amend or delete his information and his account settings at any time. Provided a legitimate interest can be demonstrated, we reserve the right to postpone the effectiveness of a change until written evidence is supplied by the Customer.
  • In the event of a violation of (i) applicable law, (ii) these T&C, or (iii) other applicable contractual terms, we reserve the right to withhold any features of the Mobile App and/or the Website, to temporarily suspend the User Account, to delete the User Account irrevocably or to take any other appropriate measure (virtual domestic authority). We shall decide on any such measure at our own discretion. However, in any case, we will provide the Customer with alternative means for reviewing and accessing Customer's account, financial status, and insurance contracts.
  • The Customer may delete his User Account at any time without stating any reasons. A suspension or deletion of the User Account does not affect previously created mutual rights and obligations.
  • The Customer may not transfer the User Account and the rights and obligations resulting therefrom without our prior written consent. The use of the User Account deems the respective user to be authorized to use the User Account. The Customer hereby authorizes the respective user of the User Account to make use of the User Account on behalf and for the account of the Customer.
  • The Customer must keep his credentials confidential and limit the access to his User Account. In particular, the Customer must protect his credentials against loss, theft and any other misuse. He must notify us of any loss of credentials in text form without undue delay.
  • Any damage caused as the result of unauthorized use of the credentials shall be attributed to the Customer if Customer caused the unauthorized use by means of an intentional or negligent violation of one of his duties set forth in Section 2 (9).

3. Services, Information on Products

  • The Company offers a Mobile App and a Website regarding information and use of financial products offered by Company, in particular regarding life insurances. For that purpose, Company keeps certain information available for retrieval or download in the Mobile App and on the Website.
  • The financial products offered within the Mobile App and on the Website can be selected by the Customer. Further information will be provided to the Customer in the course of the conclusion of contracts regarding such products. Such insurance contracts, including their conclusion via the Mobile App or Website, will be governed by separate terms and conditions which will be presented to the Customer before the conclusion of the insurance contract.

4. Rights to Use the Information, Software and Documentation

  • Use of the information, software and documentation made available in the Mobile App and on the Website is governed by the present T&C.
  • The Company grants the Customer a non-exclusive, non-transferable right to use and copy the Mobile App and the information and documentation made available in the Mobile App and the Website for the purposes laid out in these T&C. Company has licensed these rights from Munich Reinsurance Company, Königinstraße 107, 80802 Munich, Germany.
  • The right to copy is limited to the installing, loading, displaying, running and storing of the Mobile App on a mobile device that is in the Customer's immediate possession.
  • The Mobile App itself as well as the information and documentation provided in the Mobile App and on the Website are protected both by copyright laws and international copyright agreements, and by other laws and agreements pertaining to intellectual property. The Customer shall observe these rights and, in particular, the Customer shall not remove any alphanumeric codes, trademarks, designs or copyright notices either from the Mobile App, the Website information or the documentation, or from copies thereof.

5. Liability

  • We shall not be liable for damages towards the Customer with the following exceptions:

    • if a guaranteed quality is not present;
    • for claims regarding damages for injury to life, body or health due to intentional or negligent breach of duty by us or by our legal representative or persons we engage in the performance of our obligations;
    • for claims regarding other damages arising from an intentional or grossly negligent breach of duty by us or by our legal representative or persons we engage in the performance of our obligations;
    • for violation of material contractual obligations whose breach jeopardizes the achievement of the purpose of the contract or whose fulfilment is a prerequisite for enabling the proper fulfilment of the contract and on the fulfilment of which the customer regularly relies (Kardinalpflichten);
    • for claims under the applicable product liability laws.

  • In cases of paragraph (1) d) above, the amount of our liability is limited to the damages which typically occur and are foreseeable at the time of conclusion of the contract.
  • We shall be liable for loss of data only up to the amount of typical recovery costs that would have arisen had proper and regular data backup measures been taken.
  • In case there is a limitation or exclusion of our liability, such limitations and exclusions shall also apply to the personal liability of our employees, representatives, officers and persons we engage in the performance of our obligations.
  • In consideration of the properties of the internet and of computer systems, Company assumes liability neither for the uninterrupted availability of the Mobile App and the Website nor for interoperability with other applications, mobile devices and operation systems.

6. Data Protection

  • We collect, process and use Customer's personal data when you use our Mobile App and/or the Website and enter into contractual relationships with us. We do so in compliance with applicable data protection law.
  • For further information on the collection, process and use of Customer's data, we refer to our privacy statement .

7. Applicable Law

  • The contractual relationship between us and the Customer shall be governed and interpreted in accordance with the laws of Germany, excluding its conflict of law provisions. For consumers residing in another member state of the EU, the mandatory consumer protection provisions of the law of such member state will remain unaffected.

8. Information on Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

  • We are neither willing nor obliged to participate in consumer ADR-proceedings (Sec. 36 (1) no. 1 German Alternative Dispute Resolution Act in Consumer affairs, "VSBG").
  • The European Commission provides a platform for online dispute settlements (OS-Platform). You can reach them at https://ec.europa.eu/consumers/odr

9. Final Provisions

  • If one or several provisions of these T&C should be or become legally invalid for any reason whatsoever, the validity of the remaining provisions shall not be affected thereby. In such case, the invalid provision shall be replaced by the provision of statutory law. If such statutory law does not exist (loophole) or led to unreasonable results, the parties will enter into negotiations to replace the invalid provision by another provision coming as close as possible to the legal and economic purpose of the invalid provision.

Rechtliche Hinweise

Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen für die Nutzung der Garden-Mobile-App und -Website

Fassung: August 2019

1. Allgemeine Bestimmungen

  • Jede Nutzung der "Garden"-Mobile-App ("Mobile-App") und "Garden",-Website ( https://getgarden.de , "Website"), die durch die Munich Re PCC Ltd., eine gemäß den Bestimmungen der maltesischen Verordnung „Companies Act (Cell Companies Carrying on Business of Insurance) Regulations (Subsidiary Legislation 386.10 der maltesischen Gesetze)“ gegründete Cell Company, welche hierin für uns und für die Savings & Investments Cell auftritt (das "Unternehmen" oder "wir"), angeboten wird, ist unseren Kunden (jeder ein "Kunde") ausschließlich gemäß diesen Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen (die "AGB") gestattet.
  • Für Content und Leistungen, die über die Mobile-App bzw. die Website erbracht werden, ist das folgende Unternehmen verantwortlich, welches auch der Vertragspartner des Kunden ist:

    Munich Re PCC Ltd., in Bezug auf die Savings & Investments Cell

    Anschrift: Level 4, Whitehall Mansions, Ta’ Xbiex Seafront, Ta’ Xbiex, XBX 1026, Malta,

    Telefon: +356 21344066

    E-Mail: savingsandinvestments@munichre.com

    USt-ID: MT 2439-5005

  • Die in der Mobile-App und auf der Website angebotenen Leistungen sind ausschließlich an Verbraucher gerichtet. Für die Zwecke dieser AGB ist ein "Verbraucher" jede natürliche Person, die ein Rechtsgeschäft zu Zwecken abschließt, die überwiegend außerhalb ihrer gewerblichen, geschäftlichen, handwerklichen oder beruflichen Tätigkeit liegen (Art. 2 Abs. 1 Richtlinie 2011/83/EU, § 13 BGB).
  • Wir behalten uns das Recht vor, diese AGB, sofern sie Teil des Vertragsverhältnisses mit dem Kunden geworden sind, im erforderlichen Umfang zu ändern oder diese AGB neuen rechtlichen oder technischen Anforderungen anzupassen. Wir werden den Kunden über die geänderten Bestimmungen informieren. Die Änderungen werden wirksam und Bestandteil des Vertragsverhältnisses mit dem Kunden, es sei denn, der Kunde widerspricht dem schriftlich oder in Textform binnen einer Frist von vier Wochen, nachdem ihm die Änderungen mitgeteilt wurden.
  • Das Unternehmen ist berechtigt, den Betrieb der Mobile-App bzw. der Website jederzeit ohne Angabe von Gründen ganz oder zum Teil zu unterbrechen. Gegebenenfalls wird den Kunden eine andere Möglichkeit gewährt, auf ihre Konten, ihren Finanzstatus und ihre Versicherungsverträge zuzugreifen.

2. Registrierung, Benutzerkonto

  • Ein Kunde kann sich registrieren und ein persönliches Benutzerkonto ("Benutzerkonto") einrichten. Jeder Kunde kann nur ein Benutzerkonto erstellen. Registrierung, Aktivierung und Nutzung des Benutzerkontos sind kostenfrei. Wenn die Registrierung erfolgt ist, kann das Benutzerkonto für die Mobile-App und die Website verwendet werden.
  • Wir sind nicht verpflichtet, Kundenregistrierungen anzunehmen.
  • Der Kunde kann seine Eingaben im Laufe des Registrierungsverfahrens überprüfen und über die Tastatur seines Geräts ändern. Der Kunde kann jederzeit in der Mobile-App und auf der Website auf diese AGB zugreifen und sie dort lesen, herunterladen und ausdrucken.
  • Das Benutzerkonto wird nach der Registrierung unverzüglich aktiviert. Die Aktivierung seines Benutzerkontos wird dem Kunden per E-Mail mitgeteilt. Danach kann sich der Kunde mit seinen Anmeldeinformationen (Benutzername und Kennwort) anmelden. Das Vertragsverhältnis über die Nutzung der Mobile-App und Website zwischen dem Unternehmen und dem Kunden kommt mit Zugang der Mitteilung über die Aktivierung seines Benutzerkontos beim Kunden zustande. Die Vereinbarung kann in den folgenden Sprachen abgeschlossen werden: Deutsch und Englisch
  • Alle vom Kunden mitgeteilten Informationen und Angaben müssen wahr sein, spätere Änderungen sind unverzüglich mitzuteilen, insbesondere, falls der Kunde kein Verbraucher mehr sein sollte (vgl. vorstehende Definition in Ziffer 1(3)). Der Kunde ist berechtigt, seine Daten wie auch seine Kontoeinstellungen jederzeit einzusehen, zu ändern oder zu löschen. Sofern ein berechtigtes Interesse nachgewiesen werden kann, behalten wir uns das Recht vor, die Wirksamkeit von Änderungen solange aufzuschieben, bis der Kunde dieses schriftlich nachweist
  • Im Falle von Verstößen gegen (i) geltendes Recht, (ii) diese AGB oder (iii) sonstige einschlägige Vertragsbedingungen, behalten wir uns das Recht vor, Features der Mobile-App bzw. der Website zurückzuhalten, das Benutzerkonto vorübergehend zu sperren, das Benutzerkonto unwiderruflich zu löschen oder sonstige angemessene Maßnahmen zu ergreifen (virtuelles Hausrecht). Das Ergreifen solcher Maßnahmen steht in unserem eigenen Ermessen. Wir werden dem Kunden aber in jeden Fall andere Möglichkeiten anbieten, das Konto, den Finanzstatus und die Versicherungsverträge des Kunden einzusehen und darauf zuzugreifen.
  • Der Kunde kann sein Benutzerkonto jederzeit ohne Angabe von Gründen löschen. Wird das Benutzerkonto gesperrt oder gelöscht, so lässt dies bereits entstandene Rechte und Verpflichtungen unberührt.
  • Der Kunde darf das Benutzerkonto wie auch die sich daraus ergebenden Rechte und Verpflichtungen nicht ohne unsere vorherige schriftliche Zustimmung auf Dritte übertragen. Wird das Benutzerkonto benutzt, so wird vermutet, dass der betreffende Benutzer zur Nutzung des Benutzerkontos befugt ist. Hierdurch bevollmächtigt der Kunde den jeweiligen Benutzer des Benutzerkontos, das Benutzerkonto namens und auf Rechnung des Kunden zu benutzen.
  • Der Kunde muss seine Anmeldeinformationen geheim halten und den Zugang zu seinem Benutzerkonto beschränken. Insbesondere muss der Kunde seine Anmeldeinformationen vor Verlust, Diebstahl und jeder sonstigen missbräuchlichen Verwendung schützen. Der Kunde muss uns jeden Verlust seiner Anmeldeinformationen unverzüglich in Textform mitteilen.
  • Schäden, die durch die unbefugte Verwendung der Anmeldeinformationen verursacht werden, sind dem Kunden zuzurechnen, wenn der Kunde die unbefugte Verwendung durch vorsätzliche oder fahrlässige Verletzung einer seiner nach Ziffer 2 (9) bestehenden Pflichten verursacht hat.

3. Leistungen, Produktinformationen

  • Das Unternehmen bietet eine Mobile-App und eine Website an, um über die vom Unternehmen angebotenen Finanzprodukte (insbesondere Lebensversicherungen) zu informieren und deren Nutzung zu ermöglichen. Zu diesem Zweck speichert das Unternehmen bestimmte Informationen, die in der Mobile-App und auf der Website abgerufen oder heruntergeladen werden können.
  • Der Kunde kann unter den in der Mobile-App und auf der Website angebotenen Finanzprodukten wählen. Im Zuge des Vertragsabschlusses über diese Produkte werden dem Kunden weitere Informationen mitgeteilt. Derartige Versicherungsverträge einschließlich deren Abschluss über die Mobile-App oder die Website unterliegen gesonderten Vertragsbedingungen, die dem Kunden vor Abschluss des Versicherungsvertrags zugeleitet werden.

4. Nutzungsrechte bezüglich der Informationen, Software und Dokumentation

  • Nutzung der in der Mobile-App und auf der Website zur Verfügung gestellten Informationen, Software und Dokumente unterliegt diesen AGB.
  • Das Unternehmen gewährt dem Kunden ein nichtexklusives, nichtübertragbares Recht, die Mobile-App sowie die in der Mobile-App und auf der Website zur Verfügung gestellten Informationen und Dokumente zu den in diesen AGB niedergelegten Zwecken zu nutzen und zu kopieren. Diese Rechte wurden dem Unternehmen von der Münchener Rückversicherungs-Gesellschaft AG, Königinstraße 107, 80802 München, Deutschland lizenziert.
  • Das Kopierrecht ist beschränkt auf das Installieren, Laden, Anzeigen, Betreiben und Speichern der Mobile-App auf einem einzigen Mobilgerät, welches sich im unmittelbaren Besitz des Kunden befindet.
  • Die Mobile-App selbst wie auch die in der Mobile-App und auf der Website zur Verfügung gestellten Informationen und Dokumente sind sowohl durch das nationale Urheberrecht als auch durch internationale Urheberrechtsabkommen sowie durch sonstige geistiges Eigentum betreffende Gesetze und Vereinbarungen geschützt. Der Kunde muss diese Rechte beachten; insbesondere ist es dem Kunden untersagt, alphanumerische Codes, Markenzeichen, Muster oder Urheberrechtshinweise von der Mobile-App, den Website-Informationen oder der Dokumentation oder von Kopien derselben zu entfernen.

5. Haftung

  • Wir haften dem Kunden nicht auf Schadensersatz, es sei denn, es handelt sich um eine der folgenden Ausnahmen:

    • Verstoß gegen Garantien;
    • Schadensersatz wegen Personenschäden an Leben, Leib oder Gesundheit, die durch vorsätzliche oder fahrlässige Pflichtverletzungen unsererseits oder seitens unserer gesetzlichen Vertreter oder von uns beauftragter Erfüllungsgehilfen verursacht wurden;
    • Schadensersatz wegen sonstiger Schäden, die durch vorsätzliche oder fahrlässige Pflichtverletzungen unsererseits oder seitens unseres gesetzlichen Vertreters oder von uns beauftragter Erfüllungsgehilfen verursacht wurden;
    • Verstöße gegen wesentliche vertragliche Verpflichtungen, deren Verletzung das Erreichen des Vertragszwecks gefährdet oder deren Erfüllung Voraussetzung für die ordnungsgemäße Vertragserfüllung ist und auf deren Erfüllung der Kunde in der Regel vertraut (Kardinalpflichten);
    • Ansprüche aus Produkthaftungsgesetzen.

  • Unsere Haftung in Fällen von Absatz (1) Buchstabe d) ist der Höhe nach auf den bei Vertragsschluss vorsehbaren, typischerweise entstehenden Schaden begrenzt.
  • Unsere Haftung für Datenverlust ist auf den Betrag der Wiederherstellungskosten beschränkt, die sich typischerweise ergeben hätten, wenn ordnungsgemäße und regelmäßige Datensicherungsmaßnahmen ergriffen worden wären.
  • Im Falle von Haftungsbeschränkungen oder Haftungsausschlüssen zu unseren Gunsten gelten die betreffenden Beschränkungen und Ausschlüsse auch für die persönliche Haftung unserer Mitarbeiter, Vertreter, Organvertreter und Erfüllungsgehilfen.
  • Im Hinblick auf die Eigenschaften von Internet und Computersystemen haftet das Unternehmen weder für die ununterbrochene Verfügbarkeit der Mobile-App und der Website noch für die Interoperabilität mit anderen Apps, Mobilgeräten und Betriebssystemen.

6. Datenschutz

  • Wenn Sie unsere Mobile-App bzw. die Website benutzen und Vertragsverhältnisse mit uns eingehen, werden personenbezogene Kundendaten von uns erhoben, verarbeitet und genutzt. Dies geschieht unter Einhaltung der geltenden datenschutzrechtlichen Vorschriften.
  • Nähere Informationen dazu, wie wir Kundendaten erheben, verarbeiten und nutzen, sind unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu entnehmen.

7. Anwendbares Recht

  • Das Vertragsverhältnis zwischen uns und dem Kunden unterliegt dem deutschen Recht mit Ausnahme seiner kollisionsrechtlichen Bestimmungen und ist entsprechend auszulegen. Für Verbraucher mit Wohnsitz in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat der EU bleiben die zwingenden Verbraucherschutzvorschriften des betreffenden Mitgliedstaats unberührt.

8. Informationen über alternative Streitbeilegung (ADR)

  • Zur Teilnahme an Verfahren zur alternativen Streitbeilegung in Verbrauchersachen (§ 36 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 deutsches Verbraucherstreitbeilegungsgesetz, "VSBG") sind wir weder bereit noch verpflichtet.
  • Europäische Kommission stellt eine Plattform zur Online-Streitbeilegung (OS-Plattform) bereit. Diese ist erreichbar unter https://ec.europa.eu/consumers/odr

9. Schlussbestimmungen

  • Sollten einzelne Bestimmungen dieser AGB ganz oder teilweise nichtig oder unwirksam sein oder werden, so wird dadurch die Wirksamkeit der übrigen Bestimmungen nicht berührt. An die Stelle von nicht einbezogenen oder unwirksamen Bestimmungen dieser AGB tritt das Gesetzesrecht. Sofern solches Gesetzesrecht im jeweiligen Fall nicht zur Verfügung steht (Regelungslücke) oder zu einem untragbaren Ergebnis führen würde, werden die Parteien in Verhandlungen darüber eintreten, anstelle der nicht einbezogenen oder unwirksamen Bestimmung eine wirksame Regelung zu treffen, die ihr wirtschaftlich möglichst nahekommt.